List of all the Prime Ministers of India fristpages

 List of all the Prime Ministers of India fristpages 

List of all the Prime Ministers of India fristpages

Here is a list of all the Prime Ministers of India, along with their term of office, political party, and other notable details:

Jawaharlal Nehru (1947-1964) - Indian National Congress, India's first Prime Minister, instrumental in India's independence movement, champion of secularism and socialism.Jawaharlal Nehru was the first Prime Minister of India and served in that position from 1947 until his death in 1964. Nehru was born on November 14, 1889, in Allahabad, India, into a wealthy and prominent political family.

He played a significant role in India's struggle for independence from British colonial rule, working closely with other leaders such as Mahatma Gandhi. Nehru's vision for an independent India was a secular and democratic nation, with a strong focus on education and economic development.

After India gained independence in 1947, Nehru became the Prime Minister and held that position until his death. During his tenure, he oversaw many major initiatives, including the establishment of the Planning Commission, which helped guide India's economic development, the adoption of a new constitution, and the expansion of India's foreign policy.

Nehru's policies and initiatives laid the foundation for India's growth and development in the decades following his death. He remains a significant figure in India's history and is often referred to as the architect of modern India.

Lal Bahadur Shastri (1964-1966) - Indian National Congress, Lal Bahadur Shastri was the second Prime Minister of India, serving from 1964 to 1966. He was born on October 2, 1904, in Mughalsarai, Uttar Pradesh, India.

Shastri was an active participant in the Indian independence movement and was imprisoned several times during the struggle. He held various ministerial positions in the Indian government, including the Minister of Railways and the Minister of Home Affairs, before becoming the Prime Minister in 1964.

During his brief tenure as Prime Minister, Shastri faced several challenges, including food shortages and rising prices. He introduced the slogan "Jai Jawan Jai Kisan" (Hail the Soldier, Hail the Farmer) to encourage self-sufficiency in food production and to boost the morale of the Indian armed forces.

Shastri also played a key role in the Indo-Pakistani War of 1965, during which he gave the famous order to Indian forces to "go to any extent necessary" to defend the country. The war ended with a ceasefire and the signing of the Tashkent Declaration, in which India and Pakistan agreed to withdraw their forces to the pre-war positions.

Shastri's sudden death in Tashkent, Uzbekistan, in January 1966, raised several questions and controversies. However, his legacy as a humble and dedicated leader who worked tirelessly for the betterment of the nation remains intact. He is remembered for his simplicity, honesty, and commitment to social justice, and is often referred to as "Man of Peace" and "Jai Jawan Jai Kisan" remains a popular slogan in India to this day..

Indira Gandhi (1966-1977, 1980-1984) - Indian National Congress, Indira Gandhi was the third Prime Minister of India and served two terms, from 1966 to 1977, and again from 1980 to 1984. She was the first woman to hold the position of Prime Minister in India. Gandhi was born on November 19, 1917, in Allahabad, India, into the Nehru-Gandhi family, a prominent political family in India.

During her tenure as Prime Minister, Gandhi implemented several major initiatives, including nationalizing banks and abolishing the privy purse system. She also pursued a policy of agricultural modernization and increased irrigation facilities to boost agricultural productivity.

Gandhi was known for her strong leadership and her willingness to take bold decisions, such as imposing the Emergency in 1975, which suspended civil liberties and democratic rights. Her actions during the Emergency, including the forced sterilization program, remain controversial to this day.

In 1980, Gandhi returned to power after leading her party, the Indian National Congress, to a landslide victory in the general elections. During her second term, she faced several challenges, including a separatist movement in Punjab, which eventually led to her assassination by her own bodyguards in 1984.

Gandhi's legacy as a dynamic and assertive leader who worked towards the modernization and development of India remains mixed. While she is credited with several major initiatives, including the Green Revolution, her authoritarian style of governance and controversial actions during the Emergency continue to generate debate and controversy. Nevertheless, she remains an iconic figure in Indian politics and is often remembered as a powerful symbol of India's struggle for independence and progress.

Morarji Desai (1977-1979) - Janata Party, India's first non-Congress Prime Minister, implemented economic and social reforms, such as the abolition of the privy purses and the reorganization of the states.

Charan Singh (1979-1980) - Janata Party, known for his pro-farmer policies and advocacy for social justice.

Indira Gandhi (1980-1984) - Indian National Congress, assassinated in 1984.

Rajiv Gandhi (1984-1989) - Indian National Congress, youngest Prime Minister of India, implemented policies to modernize the economy and improve education and telecommunications.

V.P. Singh (1989-1990) - Janata Dal, implemented the Mandal Commission recommendations for affirmative action for socially and economically disadvantaged groups.

Chandra Shekhar (1990-1991) - Samajwadi Janata Party, served as Prime Minister for only seven months, known for his pro-poor policies and advocacy for social justice.

P.V. Narasimha Rao (1991-1996) - Indian National Congress, implemented economic reforms to liberalize the economy, known for his pro-market policies and opening up the Indian economy to the world.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee (1996, 1998-2004) - Bharatiya Janata Party, served as Prime Minister for three non-consecutive

  India Prime Minister of India from 1947 to 2023
Prime Minister NamePeriod
Jawahar Lal Nehru15 Aug 1947 to 27-May-1964
Gulzarilal Nanda27 May 1964 to 9 June 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri09-Jun-1964 to 11-Jan-1966
Gulzarilal Nanda11-Jan-1966 to 24 January 1966
Indira Gandhi24-Jan-1966 to 24-Mar-1977
Morarji Desai24-Mar-1977 to 28-Jul-1979
Charan Singh28-Jul-1979 to 14-Jan-1980
Indira Gandhi14-Jan-1980 to 31-Oct-1984
Rajiv Gandhi31-Oct-1984 to 02-Dec-1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh02-Dec-1989 to 10-Nov-1990
Chandra Shekhar10-Nov-1990 to 21-Jun-1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao21-Jun-1991 to 16-May-1996
Atal Bihari Vajpayee16-May-1996 to 01-Jun-1996
H. D. Deve Gowda01-Jun-1996 to 21-Apr-1997
Atal Bihari Vajpayee19-Mar-1998 to 22-May-2004
Dr. Manmohan   Singh22-May-2004 to 26-May-2014
Narendra Damodardas Modi26-May-2014  to Incumbent

0/Post a Comment/Comments